PLEASE NOTE: From 1st of July 2021, shipments from the UK to EU countries will be subject to Value Added Tax (VAT) charges. Orders placed through this website are shipped Delivery Duties Unpaid (DDU) and customers in the EU may have to pay import VAT (and customs duties, if payable) and a handling fee in the receiving country.



Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Shortlisted for the 2011 T.S. Eliot Prize.
Poetry Book Society Recommendation.

What happens if, when the angel arrives with his message, no one’s at home? In poems of lyric concentration, Grace examines our need for purpose, for the signs that might help us decide what to do with our lives. These are poems of intensely felt moments - they create a vision both troubled and informed by doubt, where the ghost of a film star may be the closest we can come to grace.

“Poems of outstanding beauty and a decidedly celebratory wisdom that takes nothing for granted. This is poetry of the first order by a poet who really knows how to sing.”
John Burnside

“Esther Morgan’s poems are full of hints and mysteries. They dance on sensuous feet while keeping a troubled eye on the music that keeps them dancing.”
George Szirtes

“Esther Morgan’s poetry is wonderfully elegant, poignant and wise.”
Antony Dunn, Poetry London

Esther Morgan was born in Kidderminster. She has taught at the University of East Anglia, and is currently Historic Recordings Manager for the Poetry Archive. Her two previous Bloodaxe collections are Beyond Calling Distance (2001), winner of the Aldeburgh First Collection Prize, and also shortlisted for the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, and The Silence Living in Houses (2005). She won the Bridport Prize in 2010 with her poem ‘This Morning’. She lives in Norfolk.