Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

Kerry Hardie: Selected Poems

Authors: Kerry Hardie

Published by Bloodaxe Books

ISBN: 9781852248901

- +
Kerry Hardie is one of Ireland’s leading poets. Her Selected Poems covers work written over two decades and draws on her five collections with Gallery Press: A Furious Place (1996), Cry for the Hot Belly (2000), The Sky Didn’t Fall (2003), The Silence Came Close (2006) and Only This Room (2009). Her poetry questions, celebrates and challenges all aspects of life and experience, but ultimately is concerned with the quiet realisation that ‘there is nothing to do in the world except live in it’.

“The essence of her marvellous poems lies in the way she sees through a material world that is rendered truthfully, plainly yet freshly.”
George Szirtes, The Irish Times

“She guides us through tragedy, reassuring us but never romanticising the true nature of life.”
Jennifer Matthews, Poetry International

Kerry Hardie was born in 1951 and grew up in County Down. Her poems have won many prizes, including the Michael Hartnett Award for Poetry in 2005. They have also featured in the Bloodaxe anthologies Staying Alive (2002), Being Alive (2004), The Poetry Cure (2005), The New Irish Poets (2004) and Modern Women Poets (2005), as well as Being Human (2011). She now lives in County Kilkenny with her husband, the writer Seán Hardie.
See more: Book
Scroll to top