Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

New & Selected Poems

Authors: Fergus Allen

Published by CB Editions

ISBN: 9780957326668

- +

Fergus Allen published his first collection at the age of 72. Driven by “a remarkable energy” (John Greening in the TLS), he has continued – through four further volumes over two decades – to write poetry that has been described by William Boyd as “limpid, very subtle and marvellously wise”.

This latest selection includes a substantial set of previously unpublished poems which, according to Christopher Reid, “summarises a body of work which is possibly unique in its late timing, but remarkable for much more than that. I hope it will help to give Fergus Allen the prominence he deserves.”

Fergus Allen was born in 1921 to an Irish father and English mother. After graduating from Trinity College, Dublin, he moved to England during the Second World War. He has published five collections of poetry: The Brown Parrots of Providencia (1993; ISBN 9780571170111), Who Goes There? (1996; ISBN 9780571177820), Mrs Power Looks Over the Bay (1999; ISBN 9780571200290), all published by Faber, Gas Light & Coke (Dedalus Press, 2006; ISBN 9781904556480) and Before Troy (CB Editions, 2010; ISBN 9780956107350). In 2000 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. He now lives in Berkshire.

See more: Book
Scroll to top