Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

The BBC National Short Story Award 2011

Published by Comma Press

ISBN: 9781905583416

- +
‘We are living through a golden moment in the history of the short story,’ wrote The Guardian recently, and the annual BBC National Short Story Award is both a testament to this, and one of the reasons why we are.

Now in its sixth year, the Award supports and showcases Britain’s best new short fiction and continues to champion the short story as a central literary form.

In collaboration with the BookTrust, and BBC Radio 4.

Themes of desire, envy and disconnection provide recurring motifs for the five shortlisted stories presented here – the extremes that love can endure and what happens when love is not enough. The panel of judges this year included novelist Tessa Hadley, novelist and critic Geoff Dyer, poet and author of Submarine, Joe Dunthorne and BBC Editor of Readings, Di Speirs. The panel was chaired by broadcaster Sue MacGregor who also introduces the selection.

M.J. Hyland’s first novel, How the Light Gets In (2003), was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize. Her second, Carry Me Down (2006), won the Hawthornden and Encore Prizes and was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. Her third novel, This is How (2009), was longlisted for the Orange Prize and the International IMPAC Prize.

Alison MacLeod’s short fiction has been published in a wide range of magazines including Prospect, The London Magazine, The Sunday Times, and broadcast on the BBC. Her story ‘Dirty Weekend’ was awarded the Society of Authors’ Olive Cook Prize for Short Fiction.

Jon McGregor's books include If Nobody Speaks of Remarkable Things (2002), So Many Ways To Begin (2006), and Even The Dogs (2010), which between them have won the Somerset Maugham Award and been twice longlisted for the Man Booker Prize.

K.J. Orr has won awards for both short fiction and plays, and been shortlisted for the London Writers’ Prize, the Asham Award and the Bridport Prize.

D.W. Wilson won the silver award for fiction at the 2008 Canadian National Magazine Awards, and has since been shortlisted for the Writers’ Trust of Canada Journey Prize – the most prestigious award for emerging authors in Canada.
See more: Book
Scroll to top