Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

The Bells of Hope

Authors: Roddy Lumsden

Published by Penned in the Margins

ISBN: 9781908058041

- +

The Bells of Hope is a series of 51 poems, all of them in a short form Lumsden has developed, in which metaphor and truth swirl in one short and three long lines. Lyrical and curious, these poems, though stand-alone, collectively chart a time of change in the poet’s life, delighting in unusual words and tumbling images, in poems whose titles run from A to Z and back to A.

“One of the best poets writing in English on the planet today.” – Don Share

Roddy Lumsden
is a Scottish poet and an Eric Gregory Award winner. His first book Yeah Yeah Yeah was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best First Collection section. His second collection, The Book of Love, was a Poetry Book Society Choice, and was shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize and the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. Mischief Night: New & Selected Poems (2004) was a Poetry Book Society Recommendation. His most recent collections are Third Wish Wasted (2009) and Terrific Melancholy (2011), both published by Bloodaxe. His poetry appears in the recent Seren anthology The Captain’s Tower (Seren, 2011). He also edited the Bloodaxe anthology Identity Parade: New British & Irish Poets in 2010, and Anvil New Poets 3 in 2001.

See more: Book
Scroll to top