Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

TWO NOVELS: The Proof & The Third Lie

Authors: Agota Kristof

Published by CB Editions

ISBN: 9781909585041

- +

Following on from The Notebook, which recounted the survival of twin brothers during war and occupation, The Proof and The Third Lie trace the lives of Lucas and Claus during their years of of separation.

As the brothers, isolated in different countries, yearn for the seemingly impossible restoration of their lost connection, perspectives shift, memories diverge, identity becomes unstable. Written in Kristof ’s spare, direct style, the novels are an exploration both of the aftereffects
of trauma and of the nature of story-telling.

Agota Kristof, born in Csikvánd, Hungary, in 1935, became an exile in French-speaking Switzerland in 1956. Working in a factory, she slowly learned the language of her adopted country. Her first novel, The Notebook (Le Grand Cahier, 1986), gained international recognition and was translated into more than thirty languages. The Proof (La Preuve, 1988) and The Third Lie (Le Troisième Mensonge, 1991) complete the trilogy of novels in which she, as an emigré writer, forged wholly distinctive ways to treat the 20th-century European experience of war, occupation and separation. She died in 2011.

See more: Book
Scroll to top