Congratulations to Don Paterson!


The Costa category awards were announced yesterday, the fabulous Don Paterson has won the poetry Category with his 40 Sonnets. Paterson has won all the major poetry awards with his previous books and is the only poet to win the TS Eliot prize twice. 

Andrew Michael Hurley won the First Novel award with The Lonely, Kate Atkinson has taken the Novel award with A God In Ruin, follow up to the brilliant Life After Life which won this award in 2013. Biography has been won by Andrea Wulf with The Invention of Nature and Children's goes to The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge. 

Can the events of 2010 be repeated?  Will a poetry title win the Book of the Year title in 2016?  We'll have to wait and see.  Either way, it's a great set of titles to put on the 2016 reading list!

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published