Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

The Winner of the 2019 Rathbones Folio Prize: Raymond Antrobus

Posted on May 21, 2019 by Rebecca Robinson | 0 comments

The 33-year old spoken-word poet Raymond Antrobus is tonight, Monday, 20th May, named the winner of the £30,000 Rathbones Folio Prize, for his debut collection, The Perseverance. It is the first time the prize – which rewards the best work of literature of the year, regardless of form – has been awarded to a poet.

The Perseverance – published by the small press Penned in the Margins – ranges across history and continents to explore issues as wide-ranging as the poet’s diagnosis with deafness as a child, mixed heritage experience, masculinity, and his beloved father’s alcoholism and later decline into dementia and death. Last month, the book, which contains a fierce challenge of Ted Hughes’s description of deaf children, was given the Ted Hughes Award. It was shortlisted for the Griffin Prize, the Jhalak Prize, and the Somerset Maugham Award.

Read more.

Buy the book.

Previous Next



Leave a reply

This blog is moderated, your comment will need to be approved before it is shown.

Scroll to top