PLEASE NOTE: From 1st of July 2021, shipments from the UK to EU countries will be subject to Value Added Tax (VAT) charges. Orders placed through this website are shipped Delivery Duties Unpaid (DDU) and customers in the EU may have to pay import VAT (and customs duties, if payable) and a handling fee in the receiving country.

Remember the Birds

Remember the Birds

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

"This is a big-hearted, soft-spoken volume, gently steering itself towards reconciliation with loss."
The Stinging Fly

"A strong second collection, the book showcases Callaghan's accomplished use of language. [Of the sequence 'Ways of Mourning'] she has created a memorial with these poems, one that should please her as much as it should touch her readers... Remember the Birds is cathedral-esque in its aspirations..."
Poetry Ireland Review

"At times touching, humorous, at others fragile and heartbreaking: Callaghan's lyrical poems seem deceptively easy, but reveal a subtle underscurrent of continued questioning of the world around us."
Cara Magazine

Macdara Woods, who launched the collection, also remarked on "the edge of humour, the understatement, luminously brilliant observation, and the intellectual honesty... of this selflessly generous book."

Louise C. Callaghan was born in 1948 and grew up in County Dublin. Her first poetry collection, The Puzzle-Heart, was published by Salmon in 1999. She compiled and edited Forgotten Light: An Anthology of Memory Poems (A & A Farmar, 2003). Her poetry, which is widely anthologised in Ireland and England, is included in the Field Day Anthology: Vols IV & V. A play, Find The Lady, based loosely on the life of Kate O'Brien, was signaled by the Abbey Theatre Company.