Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

Ruth Bidgood

Ruth Bidgood was born in Seven Sisters, Glamorgan. After some years in the WRNS in Alexandria, and (after marriage) in and near London, she returned to Wales, and lived for many years in the village of Abergwesyn, Powys, and more recently in nearby Beulah.

Her 13 collections of poems include several shortlisted for major Welsh awards. Time Being (Seren, 2009) was a Poetry Book Society Recommendation, and won the Roland Mathias Prize. Her recent collection Above the Forests was published by Cinnamon Press in 2012, shortly before her 90th birthday, coinciding with Matthew Jarvis's book Ruth Bidgood in the Writers of Wales series. Ruth is also the author of Parishes of the Buzzard (Goldleaf, 2000), a prose study of the Abergwesyn area. Her poems have appeared in many magazines (including Poetry Wales) and anthologies.

Ruth Bidgood reads at the Ledbury Poetry Festival in 2010:

Scroll to top