PLEASE NOTE: From 1st of July 2021, shipments from the UK to EU countries will be subject to Value Added Tax (VAT) charges. Orders placed through this website are shipped Delivery Duties Unpaid (DDU) and customers in the EU may have to pay import VAT (and customs duties, if payable) and a handling fee in the receiving country.

Frightening New Furniture

Frightening New Furniture

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

"... a social critique as lithe and imaginative as that of the con-merchants who run the show… A satire which eschews moderation and openly admits its own savagery can only succeed."
Justin Quinn, The Cambridge Introduction to Modern Irish Poetry, 1800-2000

"This is work which raises the question of what the political poem can be, for us now, in our several cultures."
Siobhan Campbell, Dissent Magazine

"... wonderfully inventive imagery"
Laurie Smith, Magma

"The left should hurry to welcome this collection. Here is poetry that we can identify with, that tells of our hopes and fears and doubts and questions, that puts our lives on the map too. The fact that one of our own can tell such stories in a way that is so powerful and satisfying is something to be proud of."
Joe Conroy, Red Banner

"He is the only one of my Irish contemporaries who makes me laugh out loud regularly, not just because the work is funny, but because it has that great sense of character behind it, where one pictures the speaker in all his curmudgeonly grumpy-old-man-ness glaring at the reader wondering what the hell they're laughing at!"
Nigel McLoughlin, Iota

Kevin Higgins was born in London in 1967, but grew up in Galway City where he still lives. He is co-organiser of the highly successful Over The Edge literary events series. His previous two collections of poems, The Boy With No Face (2005) and Time Gentlemen, Please (2008), were both also published by Salmon Poetry. The Boy With No Face was short-listed for the 2006 Strong Award. His work also features in the Forward Book of Poetry 2009, Best of Irish Poetry 2009 (Southword Editions) and Identity Parade: New British and Irish Poets (Ed Roddy Lumsden, Bloodaxe, 2010).