Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

Groundswell: New & Selected Poems

Authors: Patrick Deeley

Published by Dedalus Press

ISBN: 9781906614683

- +

Groundswell gathers a substantial set of new and unpublished poems together with selected works from Patrick Deeley’s five previous collections: Intimate Strangers (1986), Names for Love (1990), Turane: the Hidden Village (1995), Decoding Samara (2001) and The Bones of Creation (2008), all published by Dedalus Press.

The poems are marked by a muscular tension, a bracing and energising quality that continues through his latest work.

“Patrick Deeley is one of those remarkable poets for whom the raw immensity of the rural will, one suspects, always hold the ultimate imaginative fascination.”
Fred Johnston, Books Ireland

Patrick Deeley was born in Loughrea, Co. Galway. His poems have appeared in magazines like The Stinging Fly, The Shop and Contrary, and have been translated into French and Italian. He also writes fiction for younger readers; his novel The Lost Orchard won the Eilis Dillon Book of the Year Award in 2001. He now lives in Dublin.

See more: Book
Scroll to top