Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

Hansen’s Children

Authors: Ognjen Spahić

Published by Istros Books

ISBN: 9781908236012

- +

It’s the end of the 1980s and Europe is about to change forever. In a forgotten corner of Romania, two men await their fate as their reality literally begins to fall apart. This unique and often shocking book allows us to view a world we have surely never encountered before. Unafraid to tell the truth, Spahić takes us on a journey through the revolution which will change not only our way of seeing this chapter of history, but also challenge how we perceive our own identity. As much about the fall of Communism as it is about the continuing disparity between West and East, Hansen's Children cannot fail to move you.

Ognjen Spahić was born in 1977 in Podgorica, Montenegro. He is the best-known member of the young generation of Montenegrin writers to have emerged since the collapse of former Yugoslavia. Spahić has published two collections of short stories: All That, 2001 and Winter Search, 2007. To date, Hansen’s Children has been published in Slovenian, Romanian, Hungarian and Macedonian editions. There will also be French (Gaia Editions) and Italian (Zandonai Editore) editions published this year. His short story “Raymond is No Longer with Us—Carver is Dead” was included in the anthology Best European Fiction 2011 published by Dalkey Archive Press in the USA. Spahić was awarded the EU Prize for Literature in 2014.

This book is also available as a eBook. Buy it from Amazon here.

See more: Book
Scroll to top