PLEASE NOTE: From 1st of July 2021, shipments from the UK to EU countries will be subject to Value Added Tax (VAT) charges. Orders placed through this website are shipped Delivery Duties Unpaid (DDU) and customers in the EU may have to pay import VAT (and customs duties, if payable) and a handling fee in the receiving country.



Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

David Almond is now known around the world as the author of the novels Skellig, Kit’s Wilderness and The Savage. His first two books – Sleepless Nights (1985) and A Kind of Heaven (1997) – were published by Iron Press, a selection of which appears in Nesting alongside two previously unpublished tales. The stories draw deeply from the Tyneside estate of Almond’s childhood, exploring the themes that would inform his later work, and displaying all the rhythm, lyricism and drive for which he is acclaimed today.

“A master storyteller.”
The Independent

“There is nobody quite like Almond writing in adults’ or children’s fiction today. A writer of visionary, Blakean intensity.”
The Times

“David Almond’s books are strange, unsettling wild things. They are, like all great literature, beyond classification.”
The Guardian

David Almond was born in Newcastle upon Tyne. His many awards include the Whitbread Children’s Book Award (twice), the Carnegie Medal and the Hans Christian Andersen Award. My Name is Nina, the prequel to Skellig, was published in 2010. His books have been translated into over 40 languages, and adapted for both stage and screen. He now lives in Northumberland.

This book is also available as a eBook. Buy it from Amazon here.