Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

That Morning Will Come: New & Selected Poems

Authors: Seamus Cashman

Published by Salmon Poetry

ISBN: 9781903392638

- +
The new poems in this collection reflect Cashman's sense of place and of the spiritual groundings of daily life characteristic of his early poems.

Secrets, a sequence of thirteen poems written following a visit to Palestine - such as 'The separation wall', 'Random contact', 'Exceptions to the truth' - are passionate responses to contemporary political tragedy, abuse of human rights, and love of homeland (tír grá).

Poems in section two, 'Opening Doors', dance between childhood and parenthood, catch glimpses in mirrors and are 'Flying skies'. Here are accessible, confident poems by a poet whose lyrical voice captivates.

About Seamus Cashman's poetry:

"poems of lasting quality"
Poetry Wales Review

"a wit, ease and naturalness to admire and enjoy."
Poetry Ireland Review

"All of Cashman's poems are carefully chiselled and smoothly polished."
Irish Catholic 'Bookshelf'

"strong imagery and with a smoothness of poetic texture..."
Books Ireland

Seamus Cashman was born in Cork, and is the founder of one of Ireland's leading literary and cultural publishing houses, Wolfhound Press. Previous poetry collections are: Carnival and Clowns and Acrobats. He edited two landmark anthologies for young readers, The Wolfhound Book of Irish Poems for Young People (1975), still in print, and Something Beginning with P: new poems from Irish poets (2004). He is a publishing consultant and writing tutor. He lives in Portmarnock.
See more: Book
Scroll to top