Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

The Flying Trapeze

Authors: Duncan Bush

Published by Seren

ISBN: 9781854115720

- +

The Flying Trapeze
is the sixth collection from Welsh poet Duncan Bush, one of the most significant voices of his generation. The poems are characteristically unsentimental, tough-minded and fiercely lyrical.

Largely inspired by his world travels, they range from the marginal, monochrome lives of ‘Avedon’s Drifters’ to the full-blooded colours of the tango in ‘A Blood Rose’, from his fine nature poems to the bitter political satire of ‘A Season in Sarajevo’ and ‘Lahore’.

“Duncan Bush creates a resilient dignity… against the obliterating rapids of history.” – Poetry Wales

Duncan Bush is a poet, novelist, dramatist, translator and documentary writer. His poetry collections include Masks, a Poetry Book Society Recommendation and the 1995 Arts Council of Wales Book of the Year (Seren, 1995), and Midway (Seren, 1998). He is the author of several novels, including The Genre of Silence (Seren, 1995). He has lived for many years in Luxembourg, and is co-editor of the Amsterdam Review.

See more: Book
Scroll to top