Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

The New Order

Published by Arc Publications

ISBN: 9781906570507

- +
The prize-winning poet and translator George Szirtes has selected work from eleven of Hungary's leading young poets for this bi-lingual anthology, the publication of which coincides with the twentieth anniversary of the destruction of the Berlin Wall.

This is the first major anthology of Hungarian poetry of this generation.

Contributors include: István Kemény (b.1961), Szilárd Borbély (b.1964), András Imreh (b.1966), Mónika Mesterházi (b.1967), Krisztina Tóth (b.1967), Virág Erdos (b.1968), Jáos Térey (b.1970), G. István László (b.1972) and Anna T Szabó (b.1972).

Plus UK poets/translators Owen Sheers, Anthony Dunn, Clare Pollard, Matthew Hollis and Agnes Lehoczky.

"... if a lively and different way with words and imagination and risk is to be brought into original English writing, here's a fine push towards it."
David Hart, Stride

George Szirtes was born in Budapest in 1948. His first book, The Slant Door was published in 1979 and won the Faber Memorial prize the following year. He has published several books and won various other prizes including the T. S. Eliot Prize for Reel in 2005.
See more: Book
Scroll to top