Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

The Open Door

Authors: Alan Sillitoe

Published by Five Leaves Publications

ISBN: 9781907869631

- +

With an introduction by Alan Sillitoe's widow, the poet Ruth Fainlight.

The Open Door follows Saturday Night and Sunday Morning as the final volume in the Seaton series.

Returning on a troopship from Malaya in 1949, Brian Seaton (Arthur's brother) comes back to a Nottingham world of rationing, the black market, a wife he no longer loves and a child who does not recognise him. He is full of life and lust, but he has tuberculosis, forcing a long stay in a military hospital where he falls for first one nurse, then a second, while carrying on a relationship with another TB sufferer back in Nottingham.

In the background, this partially autobiographical novel reveals that Seaton is starting to write, meeting others like him as he realises there is a wider world than the back streets of his Midlands home.

This book is also available as an ebook: buy it from Amazon here.

See more: Book
Scroll to top