Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

Where the Wind Sleeps: New & Selected Poems

Authors: Noel Monahan

Published by Salmon Poetry

ISBN: 9781908836809

- +

About Where the Wind Sleeps by Noel Monahan:

In a secular post-national Ireland, Noel Monahan strives to belong somewhere, always searching to find home. A series of meditative sonnets takes him to the stillness of ruins of medieval monasteries on the islands of Lough Ree. Here, the ether of the past generates poetic energy. In this in-between world, the past lingers in the “slow noise of old ways dying”. Yet, Monahan’s territory is everywhere. He extends the parameters of Irishness, shifts from writing in English to Irish.

Noel Monahan has published extensively and he has won numerous awards for his writing including: The Seacat Poetry Ireland Award, The Hiberno-English Poetry Award, The Irish Writers’ Union Poetry Award, The A.S.T.I. Achievements Award and the RTE P. J. O’Connor Award for his play, Broken Cups.Where The Wind Sleeps: New & Selected Poems is Monahan’s sixth collection of poetry, all of which are published by Salmon Poetry. He was born in Granard, Co. Longford and now lives in Cavan.

See more: Book
Scroll to top