Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

Jean Earle: Selected Poems

Authors: Jean Earle

Published by Seren

ISBN: 9781854110305

- +
This volume collects the best work from Jean Earle's previous books, A Trial of Strength, The Intent Look and Visiting Light, whilst adding to it over forty outstanding new poems.

Since her first book in 1980 (published at the age of seventy one) Jean Earle has established a considerable reputation as both reader and writer. Her poems are lyrical and visionary, discreetly informed by her faith, widening from the everyday to the universal. Contemplative and questioning, she explores the distances and spaces which separate past and present, man and nature, seeing and understanding. Observant of the familiar, the poet's focused and individual language proves vivid and painterly, the poems marked by revealing images and an almost epiphanic quality. Jean Earle offers a positive response to the modern world: readers of this book will be refreshed by the sheer sanity of her writing.

Jean Earle (1909-2002) lived in Wales for most of her 92 years. Her last collection, The Bed of Memory, was shortlisted for the 2002 Arts Council of Wales Book of the Year Award. Visiting Light (1987) and Selected Poems (1990) were a Poetry Book Society Choice and Recommendation respectively.
See more: Book
Scroll to top