Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

Independent publishers on the books they enjoyed and envied in 2015

Posted on December 22, 2015 by Rebecca Robinson | 0 comments

The Guardian today asked independent publishers about the books that made their year, the books that deserved to do better and the books they wished they published. Tom Chivers from Penned in the Margins and Charles Boyle from CB editions both took part and with Tom wishing he'd published Steve Ely’s Englaland, from Smokestack Books, it was an Inpress triple threat!

Read the whole article here.


Continue reading →

Matthew Siegel, Andrew Elliott, and Kim Moore shortlisted for Forward Prize

Posted on September 29, 2015 by Yen-Yen Lu | 0 comments

The Forward Prize Award Ceremony took place last night at the Southbank Centre and the shortlist featured several Inpress writers! Matthew Siegel was nominated for the Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection with Blood Work, published by CB Editions while Andrew Elliott was nominated for the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem with ‘Doppelgänger’ from Sonofabook, also from CB Editions, along with Kim Moore with her poem ‘In That Year’ from Poetry News. Kim has previously been published by Seren.

Mona Arshi’s Small Hands and Claire Harman’s ‘The Mighty Hudson’ won Best First Collection and Best Single Poem respectively while the Forward Prize for Best Collection 2015 was awarded to Claudia Rankine’s Citizen: An American Lyric.

Huge congratulations to the winners and nominees! The 24th annual Forward Book of Poetry, which includes the judges’ choice of the year’s poems, was also launched yesterday. It features a poem by another Inpress writer, Steve Ely, whose poem ‘The Battle of Brunanburh’ from Englaland, published by Smokestack Books, has been highly commended by the judges.

Continue reading →

Scroll to top