Books for Independent Thinkers 
Cart (0) £0.00 GBP

Forward Prize 2016

Posted on June 13, 2016 by Emily Tate | 0 comments

Congratulations are in order this morning as the shortlists for the Forward Prize 2016 are up with Wife by Tiphanie Yanique (Peepal Tree Press) nominated for The Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection. 

Both Melissa Lee-Houghton and Sasha Dugdale are on the shortlist for Best Single Poem too. 

This year’s judging panel is chaired by Malika Booker, writer, spoken word artist and Inpress Board member. Also on the panel are poets George Szirtes and Liz Berry, with singer/songwriter Tracey Thorn and Don Share, editor of Poetry magazine. The prizes will be awarded on 20 September 2016 at the Royal Festival Hall.

Here's the full list of nominations:

The Forward Prize for Best Collection Shortlist (£15,000)
Vahni Capildeo – Measures of Expatriation (Carcanet)
Ian Duhig – The Blind Roadmaker (Picador Poetry)
Choman Hardi – Considering the Women (Bloodaxe Books)
Alice Oswald – Falling Awake (Cape Poetry)
Denise Riley – Say Something Back (Picador Poetry)

The Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection Shortlist (£5,000)
Nancy Campbell – Disko Bay (Enitharmon Press)
Ron Carey – Distance (Revival Press)
Harry Giles – Tonguit (Freight Books)
Ruby Robinson – Every Little Sound (Liverpool University Press)
Tiphanie Yanique – Wife (Peepal Tree Press)

The Forward Prize for Best Single Poem Shortlist (£1,000)
Sasha Dugdale – ‘Joy’ (PN Review)
David Harsent – ‘from Salt’ (Poetry London)
Solmaz Sharif – ‘Force Visibility’ (Granta Magazine)
Melissa Lee-Houghton – ‘i am very precious’ (Prac Crit)
Rachel Hadas – ‘Roosevelt Hospital Blues’ (Times Literary Supplement)

Continue reading →

Matthew Siegel, Andrew Elliott, and Kim Moore shortlisted for Forward Prize

Posted on September 29, 2015 by Yen-Yen Lu | 0 comments

The Forward Prize Award Ceremony took place last night at the Southbank Centre and the shortlist featured several Inpress writers! Matthew Siegel was nominated for the Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection with Blood Work, published by CB Editions while Andrew Elliott was nominated for the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem with ‘Doppelgänger’ from Sonofabook, also from CB Editions, along with Kim Moore with her poem ‘In That Year’ from Poetry News. Kim has previously been published by Seren.

Mona Arshi’s Small Hands and Claire Harman’s ‘The Mighty Hudson’ won Best First Collection and Best Single Poem respectively while the Forward Prize for Best Collection 2015 was awarded to Claudia Rankine’s Citizen: An American Lyric.

Huge congratulations to the winners and nominees! The 24th annual Forward Book of Poetry, which includes the judges’ choice of the year’s poems, was also launched yesterday. It features a poem by another Inpress writer, Steve Ely, whose poem ‘The Battle of Brunanburh’ from Englaland, published by Smokestack Books, has been highly commended by the judges.

Continue reading →

Scroll to top